Cycling through vineyards

CNDP cycleYesterday morning I got up early, put on my cycling kit and headed out to cycle to Châteauneuf du Pape. I should have blogged about it at the time when the endorphins were still pumping, but regardless, I still feel very lucky to have been able to do that. It was a reasonably short ride of 23km round, but I still felt pride at being able to accomplish that when, in reality, I wouldn’t have even contemplated it a mere 8 weeks ago. And now I call it a short ride!

It was beautiful, cycling through a landscape that was vineyards as far as the eye could see, and seeing the vines heavy with grapes that were destined to make the famous and high quality wine. I was cycling into a headwind on the way there, but the wind assisted my speed considerable on the return.

One of the things I appreciate most about cycling is how calming and meditative it can be. When there is no sound but my tyres on gravel, and when my mind is quiet, I can often lose myself and really enjoy the peace of letting go and seeing the thoughts pass into and out of my mind as they choose, without bothering too much about trying to catch them.

Leave a Reply

