5 Types of Positive People That You Want To Have Around You

I’ve been considering what has contributed to my successes so far on this fitness thing I’ve been up to. There are a few factors but I think the most important one, and certainly the one that I’m reminded of every single day, is the power of surrounding yourself with positive people.

No one can undertake this journey but yourself, and certainly no one else can do the hard work. Whilst it’s a cliche, you have to own this yourself and you’ll go as far as you push yourself. But, you know, we’re human and we make mistakes and having a support network around you can mean the difference between an epic fail and a small hiccup. As well as keeping us on the right path, there is nothing more special than sharing your successes with those who care and share your excitement.

I’m very fortunate to have a fantastic support network that can be classified as follows:

1) The Gym Buddy. Nothing better than a training partner to spur you on. Combining healthy competition with a desire to be motivational to the other party really helps me keep on track with the training plan. I was lucky enough to be doing exactly the same program (C25k) on exactly the same days as my gym buddy which was just perfect. Now that my rubbish knees have intervened we will have to find a new way to train together, but I know I don’t want to let him down and I’m pretty sure he feels the same about me.

2) The Cheerleader. When you don’t think you’re all that good and you struggle to see the amazings, there is nothing better than the smiles and awe of your best cheerleader. Not afraid to share her view of my achievements, the cheerleader reminds me that what I’m up to is really rather good, even when I can’t see it myself.

3) The Experienced Athlete. When your mate is an Ironman triathlete you know that you’ve always got someone who has been through more, worse and harder than you and will surely have the answers to your questions. Always ready with a stretch to share, and an ice pack ready frozen at all times, the Experienced Athlete has the right thing for all occasions.

4) The Generalists. A girl needs to chill from time to time, because life can’t be all work out. A bunch of ladies to chat with over lunch are essential to remind that there is more to life than the latest Nanos or your 1RM DL.

5) The Trainer. A really vital protagonist in my story. I honestly think if Carlsberg made PT’s they would have made mine. He is quite simply incredible. Technical expertise, honest feedback, the right balance of pushing me to more without pushing me over the edge, he brings it all with a smile and a laugh to match. I’ve been trying to get healthy and fit and lose weight for much of my adult life and this crack at it has been the most successful to date. Why? I attribute it to The Trainer. Accountability and understanding all in one package. Invaluable. When a girl’s husband says “That man is the best thing to happen to you in a long time” you’ve got to think you’re onto a good thing.

6) I know I said 5, but it would be remiss of me to not mention a six year old who told me to go spinning on his birthday “because I want you to be fit Mummy” and a husband who puts himself out from early morning to late at night just so that I can train. None of this would be possible without the love and support of my family.

Who is in your support team?

Leave a Reply

