A Big Week: Gratitude #1- My supporters

It’s been a while but I’m still here – actually I find myself in the midst of a very big week. It’s the week that I will compete in my first Sprint Distance Triathlon at Blenheim Palace. The one that I signed up for last August, when I definitely didn’t have an ounce of belief that it was possible. I actually thought The Trainer was a little bit nuts, but I was humouring him. And now, here I am, more ready than I’ve ever been to get out there, and compete.

So I’ve been thinking about the things that have helped me make this huge leap of development – both physical and personal. Each day this week I will post about one of the things that I am so grateful for.

Today: MY SUPPORTERS. From my H-D fitness family to my real family to my friends and of course, The Trainer – I could not have got through the past year without them. Their acceptance and support of what I’ve been doing and working towards has been just crucial to my success. Possibly one of the most fundamental things.

If I had one bit of advice for anyone else thinking about taking on such a huge challenge – both in terms of physical development and personally – it’s GET SOME GREAT SUPPORTERS.

Surround yourself with people who believe in you when you don’t believe in yourself, who will listen when you’re scared or upset or joyful or confused or disappointed or ecstatic or off your head on endorphins. Get yourself someone who is always just at the end of the phone when you need them, for anything from tactical advice to emotional support. Get yourself someone who can visualise you crossing the finish line even before you’ve even signed up for the event. Surround yourself with people who see the good in you when all you see is bad. Ones who tell you that you’re missed when you don’t work out for a while. Ones who accept your flappy armed, dead fish burpee impressions and have a go with you. Who laugh at silly exercises and make it fun and give you another good reason to turn up. Who tell you about when they were just starting out and were going through the same as you. Who are just there, no matter what.

You can’t buy the sort of support I’ve had from my friends and family, it is priceless and so very valuable.

Thank you, all x

 

Leave a Reply

