No Excuses

Ino-excuses‘ve never focussed on weight loss as the outcome of my journey. “It has never been for decoration” as someone rightfully said of me. “Fit and strong” has been my mantra throughout, and whilst I’ve continued to get weighed and monitor weight it’s never been the main reason to train and eat well.

I have, of course, seen big impacts of my healthy lifestyle on my weight and it’s certainly true that I needed to lose weight to reduce the risk of obesity related illnesses. But it was a side effect, not the main effect.

I’ve also been a big fan of the mantra #noexcuses. If you want something bad enough then you get the work done, no excuses.

Still, the fact that I haven’t focussed on weight loss doesn’t mean that I’m not interested in it. Of late, in the past few months, I’ve put on 6 kgs. From my lowest weight of 88kg I am now sitting around 94kg. It’s not a huge amount but it is in the wrong direction. I’ve complained that Zoladex makes me crave sugar and carbs. I’ve argued that I didn’t have the energy to train as much as I wanted. I’ve felt sorry that I’ve seen the numbers increasing and not felt empowered to do anything about it.

And I’ve been making excuses. All the above are excuses. They might be true, but ultimately I control what I put in my mouth and I’ve been making bad choices. Certainly, there are reasons that making the right choices has been more difficult, but ultimately it comes down to the fact that I’ve been making excuses.

Well – no more. I know what works. I’ve had a couple of half-hearted restart attempts of late, but I haven’t done things properly. It’s months since I last had a green smoothie, for instance. I don’t need to reinvent the wheel, I just need to do what I know works. Lots and lots and lots of green things, very limited processed foods, strictly restricted refine sugars and keep an eye on the natural sugars. High protein, high healthy fat, moderate carbs from mostly vegetable smoothies. It is not hard. I clearly remember the first time I met with The Trainer and he talked about my existing diet. It was a Friday and that very day I changed it all. I started eating fish, I started having green smoothies, I introduced coconut oil. My fuel choices were excellent and they translated into high levels of energy and vitality.

Now, I’m recovering from major surgery and I can’t train. It’s Christmas and I’m surrounded with sweet and indulgent “treats”. There are a thousand excuses I can find if I choose to. I choose not to.

I can control the controllables – and I definitely have control about what I put into my body. Why wait til the New Year? What’s wrong with now? When I can train (in 2 weeks and 3 days, not that I am counting) I want my body to be as ready and energised as it possibly can be. I want to promote healing with highly nutritious food choices. There is much I cannot control at the moment but this I can.

What excuses are you making?

 

Leave a Reply

