5k Benchmark #2

I am under no illusion that seeing my running stats are of little interest to the vast majority of folks, but I do know that I’d kick myself if I didn’t record my progress somewhere. And anyway, maybe there is someone out there who doesn’t think progress is possible, and so I’d like to share my achievements (and disappointments as they happen, to keep it real) to prove that with some hard work and determination, anything is possible.

I first did my 5k benchmark on the 4th May, and repeated it today, 13 days later.

5k comparison

Not only is there improvement in times and speeds etc but I was really pleased that this was the first run I’ve done where the run interval has been longer than the walk. 90 seconds running, 60 seconds walking. I broke it into 3 sets of that, then took a 2.5 minute walking break, then 4 sets of the intervals, then a longer break, and finally finished on 5 sets of the intervals. I guess break it down however you can to get round. I thought running for longer than a minute would be impossible, but it wasn’t too bad.

I’m still a long way – 10 minutes! – from my desired 45 minute 5km time, but there is clear progress even in just 2 weeks so as long as I’m moving in the right direction I’m not too worried.

Leave a Reply

