Crossfit Week 5: A Girl and I Get Intimate & I Sign Up For the Open

Which is not so raunchy as it might sound, but I’m sure it got your attention!

This week at Crossfit I did my first “Girl” workout. These are benchmark workouts that you can do every so often to see your improvement in times/reps/weights etc. They are named after girls, because “anything that left you flat on your back, looking up at the sky asking ‘what just happened to me?’ deserved a females name” (Greg Glassman)

whatsapp-image-2017-02-04-at-21-04-43-1Tuesday’s workout was “Grace” which is 30 Clean and Jerks for time. The aim was intensity and speed, so we were advised to choose a weight that we could push through quickly with. Nothing so heavy that we had to rest too much. The workout should have taken between 3 and 6 minutes, but as I still don’t really have a clue what sort of weights I can manage, I completely and utterly underestimated this and did it with just 12kg on the bar. I was able to strict press, and did the whole thing unbroken in just 2 minutes 11 seconds. I was really quite disappointed with myself for getting the weight so wrong, but as the coach pointed out, I was out of breath and sweating so should be happy that I had worked hard. And, as I’ve been learning recently as part of my thinking about Improvement Kata, I’ve learned something about what I need to do next time – put more weight on the bar. I could have likely done this with double the weight and still got in done in about 5 minutes. I need to give myself more credit!

I enjoyed two great workouts this week. Every time I’m booked on I pretty much convince myself that it’s a terrible idea and that I shouldn’t go. Then I do go and love it and come out absolutely buzzing. That has got to be a good sign, hasn’t it?! The community aspect thrills me every time – my Facebook friends list is growing and I was especially pleased this week when a lady came and asked me to partner with her. Having always been last to be picked in PE at school, this was very touching and really made my night.

whatsapp-image-2017-02-04-at-21-04-43-2Whilst it’s only been 5 weeks so far, I can already see progress. When I was on my fitness kick before, I remember complaining about not being able to do full jump out and jump in burpees, then not being able to link them, then doing 100 in one session! Having had time out, I have lost fitness so when I rejoined Crossfit I was doing the whole step out step in thing again. But then during this lovely little number, I decided to try for half burpees – so step out, jump back in. I managed them, did about 30 reps in total and missed only maybe 3 of them. I used a 3kg ball for the wall balls, and have never up until this point been able to do unbroken wall balls – but I bashed out between 12-15 each minute during this session. Still a long way to go, but I can see progress which is really good because it helps one stick at it. whatsapp-image-2017-02-05-at-18-14-50-1

I also lost 1.5kg this week so very pleased. I put it down to some great food prep as suggested by Coach Bear.

AND … in VERY BIG NEWS. I signed up for the Crossfit Open 2017. This is something I’ve been mulling over for a few weeks now. The Open is a series of 5 workouts that you do at your local box (or wherever really) and then submit your scores online. You can then compare yourself to the rest of the world, your country, your box, etc. etc. I’m so not competitive, and comparison has never been a good idea for me before, but I had massive FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) so I signed up. I am not even around for the first workout, but I should be able to make the others. There is a scaled option, but it’s entirely possible that I won’t even be able to manage the scaled versions, or even the movements themselves. It’s possible to adapt the exercises of course, but no points would be scored if you don’t hit the movement standard. I am not sure that I’ve hit any movement standard so far, but I have had fun and didn’t really want to wait another year to play with the rest of the gang in the Open.

The coaches have all said that people get PBs and their first movements etc because they push themselves in the Open, which I can see, but I’m such a long way away from any of that that I can’t see it really happening for me. My only goal is to score at least 1 point throughout the whole thing. I want to be able to try the workouts with the other folks there, and even if I adapt the whole workout and I score nil points that is cool – I will still have had fun and no one else will care, so why should I?

I do think it’s worth doing so that I can compare my scores to myself next year and see how much further I’ve come … that might be from zero if I can’t do the movement to something if I can, or it might be adding reps or weights. It’s worth a go anyway!

open

 

 

Leave a Reply

